2020 United States Federal Holidays

United States federal holidays for 2020 

These federal holidays were created by the United States Congress. Typically, government employees have these days off which results in federal offices and buildings to be closed during that time. These holidays do not include other holidays that some states and cities may observe as local holidays. In addition to Federal Holidays, there are also Business Holidays that are slightly different.

Day Date Holiday
Wednesday January 1 New Year's Day
Monday January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday February 17 Presidents Day
Monday May 25 Memorial Day
Saturday (Observed on Friday) July 4 Independence Day
Monday September 7 Labor Day
Monday October 12 Columbus Day
Wednesday November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday November 26 Thanksgiving
Friday December 25 Christmas

If a holiday happens to fall on a non-working day such as a Saturday, the holiday is typically observed on the preceding Friday. However, if the holiday falls on a Sunday, it is usually observed on the following Monday since Sunday is also considered a non-working day for federal employees. For example, this year in 2020, Independence Day falls on a Saturday which results in the holiday being observed by federal employees on the preceding Friday, July 3rd. Employees of the federal government receive compensation for their time off, also known as a paid holiday.

Fun Facts:

In accordance with 5 U.S. Code § 6103.Holidays, the official federal name for President's Day is Washington's Birthday. Although President's Day has become a day to celebrate all U.S. presidents, and not just George Washington.

Back in 1870 when the Federal holidays were implemented by Congress, only 4 holidays were created. The four holidays included New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Christmas and Thanksgiving. The remaining holidays were incorporated between 1870 through 1983, with the birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr. being the last U.S. federal holiday being added.