When an employee quits or is terminated your options are to leave them in the employee list or you can delete them from the employee list. NOTE: If you leave the employee in your employee list you will be charged for them every month. It is your responsibility to delete the employees when they do not work for you anymore. We do not remove them.
Deleting the employee only removes the employee from the employee list (database) and leaves the employee time card data so it is still available. Once deleted, employees will be moved to the "Deleted Employee List". If necessary deleted employees can be restored (see How to Restore an Employee).
NOTE 1: If you want to reuse employee numbers you must change the employee number of the employee you are going to delete before you delete them. (E.g. If the current number is 4, change it to 10004)
NOTE 2: Deleted employees need to be deleted for 20 days in order to not be billed for them. This prevents anyone from deleting employees before the billing date and then re-instating them after the billing is done so as to avoid paying for them. In order to treat everyone equally, no exceptions will be made.
NOTE 3: If you Restore an employee within 20 days of the month’s billing date and then delete them again you will be charged for that employee during the next billing cycle as if they are still in your employee list for that month. So do not restore them unless you are reinstating them with your company. See NOTE 2 above.
It is Highly Recommended that you download all of the pay periods for the employee you want to delete so you have a record for your files.
To delete an employee:
- Click on the “Employees” button.
- Find the employee in the list. (If you have an extensive list of employees you can use the search to find them.)
- To delete the employee click on the .
- A popup box will show up with the following message. Confirm Delete? OK or Cancel
- Choose OK to delete the employee.