2019 U.S. Federal Holidays

 

The United States Congress created the below holidays to be recognized as Federal Holidays. For the most part, non-essential government offices will be closed on these dates. These holidays do not include other holidays that some states and cities may observe as local holidays. In addition to Federal Holidays, there are also Business Holidays that are slightly different.

Day Date Holiday
Tuesday January 1 New Year's Day
Monday January 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday February 18 Presidents Day
Monday May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday July 4 Independence Day
Monday September 2 Labor Day
Monday October 14 Columbus Day
Monday November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday November 28 Thanksgiving
Wednesday December 25 Christmas

It is important to note some holidays that fall on a Saturday may be observed on the prior Friday, and some holidays that fall on a Sunday may be observed on the following Monday. For example: In 2018, Veterans Day was on Sunday, November 11th, but Federal offices observed it the next day on Monday, November 12th as a paid holiday.

Back in 1870 when the Federal holidays were implemented by Congress, only 4 holidays were created which included New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Christmas and Thanksgiving - while the remaining holidays were incorporated between 1870 through 1983.

Fun Fact: Martin Luther King, Jr’s birthday was the last holiday added in 1983.

*Holidays referenced from the balance careers.

live chat software