Federal Holidays 2024

2022 US federal holidays

There are 12 U.S. federal holidays celebrated each year, including 2023. The United States Congress established federal holidays. Employees who are employed through the federal government are given off federal-related holidays. Employee settings that recognize federal holidays include federal offices and buildings to be closed during these days. The following holidays do not include other holidays that certain states and cities possibly observe as local holidays. In addition to Federal Holidays, there are also Business Holidays that are slightly different.

Day Date Holiday
Monday January 1 New Year's Day
Monday January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday February 19 Presidents Day
Monday May 27 Memorial Day
Wednesday June 19 Juneteenth 
Thursday July 4 Independence Day
Monday September 2 Labor Day
Monday October 14 Columbus Day
Monday November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday November 28 Thanksgiving
Wednesday December 25 Christmas

Holidays that fall on a weekend are observed on a weekday. For example, if the holiday itself is on a Sunday, it's observed on the following Monday since Sunday is considered a non-working day for federal employees. However, if a holiday falls on a non-working day such as a Saturday, the holiday is typically observed on the preceding Friday. Last year in 2023, New Year's Day fell on a Sunday, which resulted in the holiday being observed by federal employees on the following Monday, January 2, 2024. Employees employed through the federal government receive compensation for their time off, also known as a paid holiday

Federal holidays were implemented by Congress in 1870 with only 4 original holidays created. These holidays included New Year’s Day, Independence Day, Christmas and Thanksgiving. The remaining holidays were incorporated between 1870 through 2021, with Juneteenth being the last U.S. federal holiday being added.

Fun Fact:

Juneteenth is celebrated on June 19th to commemorate the emancipation of enslaved people in the United States.