State Minimum Wage 2018

Here we have a comprehensive guide to all state minimum wages.  The minimum wage for US employees is set and maintained by US labor law.  On July 24, 2009 the federal government mandated a nationwide minimum wage of $7.25 / hour.  

State State Minimum Wage Notes
     
Alabama None  
Alaska $9.80 Indexed Annual increases begin January 1- 2017 (2014 ballot measure)
American Samoa varies by Industry  The Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007 (Public Law 110-28) sets minimum wage rates within American Samoa and provides for additional increases in the minimum wage of $0.50 per hour each year on May 25- until reaching the minimum wage generally applicable in the United States. The wage rates are set for particular industries- not for an employee's particular occupation. The rates are minimum rates; an employer may choose to pay an employee at a rate higher than the rate(s) for its industry.
Arizona $10.00 Rate increased annually based on cost of living beginning Jan. 2021 (2016 ballot measure)
Arkansas $8.50  
California $10.50

Indexed annual increases based on CPI begin Jan. 1- 2023

The minimum wage scheduled increases are delayed by one year for employers with 25 or fewer employees. The rate increases to $10.50 per hour effective 1/1/2018 and is increased by $1.00 increments annually until it reaches $15.00 effective 1/1/2023

Colorado $9.30 Rate increased  annually based on cost of living beginning Jan. 1 2021 (2016 ballot measure)
Conneticut $10.10  The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 1/2 of 1 percent above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage rate equals or becomes higher than the State minimum.
Delaware $8.25  
District of Columbia $12.50 Indexed annual increases based on CPI begin July 1- 2021
Florida $8.10 Annual increase based cost of living. (Constitutional amendment 2004)
Georgia $5.15  The Georgia state minimum wage is $5.15. Employees covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act are subject to the federal minimum wage of $7.25- but those not covered under the FLSA may be paid the state minimum wage of $5.15.
Guam $8.25  
Hawaii $9.25  exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act- if the State wage is higher than the Federal wage.
Idaho $7.25  
Illinois $8.25  
Indiana $7.25  
Iowa $7.25  
Kansas $7.25  exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act- if the State wage is higher than the Federal wage.
Kentucky $7.25  
Louisana None  
Maine  

Indexed annual increases based on CPI begin Jan 1- 2021

The Maine minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum.

Maryland $9.25  
Massachusetts $11.00  The Massachusetts minimum wage rate automatically increases to 10 cents above the rate set in the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage equals or becomes higher than the State minimum.
Michigan $8.90

Annual increases take effect Jan. 1- 2019- linked to the CPI. Increases not to exceed 3.5%. (2014 Legislation)

exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act- if the State wage is higher than the Federal wage.

Minnesota $9.50 / $7.75

Indexed Annual increases begin January 1- 2017 (2014 ballot measure)

With the passage of H.B. 2091 (2014)- the annual sales volume threshold was reduced to $500-000. For large employers- with an annual sales volume of $500-000 or more- the minimum wage is currently $9.50; for small employers- those with an annual sales volume of less than $500-000- the minimum wage is $7.75.

Mississippi None  
Missouri $7.70

Minimum wage increased or decreased by cost of living starting Jan. 1- 2008. (2006 ballot measure)

In addition to the exemption for federally covered employment- the law exempts- among others- employees of a retail or service business with gross annual sales or business done of less than $500-000.

Montana $8.15 / $4.00

Increases done annually based on the CPI and effective Jan. 1 of the following year. (2006 ballot measure)

The $4.00 rate applies to businesses with gross annual sales of $110-000 or less; $8.15 applies to all others.

Nebraska $9.00  
Nevada $8.25 / $7.25

Increases subject to the federal minimum wage and consumer price index. Increases take effect July 1. (Constitutional amendment 2004/2006).

$8.25 without health benefits; $7.25 with health benefits.

New Hampshire None  A tipped employee of a restaurant- hotel- motel- inn or cabin who customarily and regularly receives more than $30 a month in tips directly from the customer will receive a base rate from the employer of not less than 45 percent of the applicable minimum wage.
New Jersey $8.44 Indexed annual increases based on the CPI- effective Jan. 1- 2014. (Constitutional Amendment 2013)
New Mexico $7.50  
New York $9.70

After 12-31-20- the rate is adjusted annually for inflation until it reaches $15.00

The new minimum wage varies across the state based on geographical location and- in New York City- employer size.

North Carolina $7.25  
North Dakota $7.25  
Ohio $8.15 / $7.25

Indexed annual increases based on the CPI. (Constitutional amendment 2006)

$7.25 for employers grossing $299-000 or less

Oklahoma $7.25 / $2.00  Employers of ten or more full time employees at any one location and employers with annual gross sales over $100-000 irrespective of number of full time employees are subject to federal minimum wage; all others are subject to state minimum wage of $2.00 (OK ST T. 40 § 197.5).
Oregon $10.25

Indexed annual increases based on the CPI are effective July 1- 2023 (2016 legislation)

In addition to the new standard minimum wage rate- SB 1532 sets out a higher rate for employers located in the urban growth boundary- and a lower rate for employers located in nonurban counties.

Pennsylvania $7.25  
Puerto Rico $7.25 / $5.08  Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are subject to the Federal minimum wage of $7.25. Employers not covered by the FLSA will be subject to a minimum wage that is at least 70 percent of the Federal minimum wage or the applicable mandatory decree rate of $5.08- whichever is higher. The Secretary of Labor and Human Resources may authorize a rate based on a lower percentage for any employer who can show that implementation of the 70 percent rate would substantially curtail employment in that business.
Rhode Island $9.60  
South Carolina None  
South Dakota $8.65 Annual indexed increases begin Jan. 1- 2016 (2014 ballot measure.)
Tennessee None  
Texas $7.25  exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
Utah $7.25  exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
Vermont $10.00 Beginning Jan. 1- 2019- minimum wage increased annually by 5% or the CPI- whichever is smaller; it cannot decrease. Note: Vermont started indexing in 2007 but enacted additional increases in 2014. (2014 Legislation)
Virginia $7.25  exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
Virgin Islands $9.50  
Washington $11.00 Annual indexed increases began Jan. 1- 2020. (ballot measure 2016)
West Virginia $8.75  
Wisconsin $7.25  
Wyoming $5.15