State Overtime Laws Weekly And Daily 2018

 

A summary of state overtime laws and rules are listed in the following table.  It is important for employers to determine what their local overtime law is and verify that employees are compensated appropriately.  If employees are not duly compensated, the employer may face DOL investigations and/or lawsuits from employees.

Find your state in the table below, you will see the overtime summary to the left of the state name.  Click the summary for a more details description.

State Law/Rule
Alabama 40 Hours Per Week
Alaska 8 h/day THEN 40 h/week
Arizona 40 Hours Per Week
Arkansas 40 Hours Per Week
California California
Colorado 12 h/day AND 40 h/week
Connecticut 40 Hours Per Week
Delaware 40 Hours Per Week
Florida 40 Hours Per Week
Georgia 40 Hours Per Week
Hawaii 40 Hours Per Week
Idaho 40 Hours Per Week
Illinois 40 Hours Per Week
Indiana 40 Hours Per Week
Iowa 40 Hours Per Week
Kansas

Option A: 46 h/week for Exempt Employees

Option B: 40 Hours per Week for Non Exempt Employees

Kentucky 40 Hours Per Week
Louisiana 40 Hours Per Week
Maine 40 Hours Per Week
Maryland 40 Hours Per Week
Massachusetts Option A: 40 hours per week
Option B: 40 h/week AND Sunday - "Massachusetts' Blue Law"
Michigan 40 Hours Per Week
Minnesota 48 Hours per week
Mississippi 40 Hours Per Week
Missouri 40 Hours Per Week
Montana 40 Hours Per Week
Nebraska 40 Hours Per Week
Nevada Option A: 8 h/day AND 40 h/week
Option B: 40 hours per Week (Based on qualification)
New Hampshire 40 Hours Per Week
New Jersey 40 Hours Per Week
New Mexico 40 Hours Per Week
New York Option A:44 h/week for Residential Employees
Option B: 40 Hours per Week for Non Residential Employees
North Carolina 40 Hours Per Week
North Dakota 40 Hours Per Week
Ohio 40 Hours Per Week
Oklahoma 40 Hours Per Week
Oregon 40 Hours Per Week
Pennsylvania 40 Hours Per Week
Rhode Island 40 Hours Per Week
South Carolina 40 Hours Per Week
South Dakota 40 Hours Per Week
Tennessee 40 Hours Per Week
Texas 40 Hours Per Week
Utah 40 Hours Per Week
Vermont 40 Hours Per Week
Virginia 40 Hours Per Week
Washington 40 Hours Per Week
West Virginia 40 Hours Per Week
Wisconsin 40 Hours Per Week
Wyoming 40 Hours Per Week

 

Available overtime options in OnTheClock.com

Off: This option to be used if you do not want to calculate overtime.

8 Hours per day: Any hours over 8 hours in a day are OT1.

10 Hours per day: Any hours over 10 hours in a day are OT1.

40 Hours per week: Any hours over 40 hours in a work week are OT1.

44 Hours per week: Any hours over 44 hours in a work week are OT1.

46 Hours per week: Any hours over 46 hours in a work week are OT1.

48 Hours per week: Any hours over 48 hours in a work week are OT1.

40 h/week AND Sunday: Any hours over 40 hours in a work week are OT1 AND Sunday is always OT1 even if the employee did not accumulate 40 hours during other days. Hours worked on Sunday do NOT count toward the accumulation of hours needed for weekly OT1. 

8 h/day OR 40 h/week: If the work week has more than 40 total hours OT1 is calculated the same as ’40 hours per week’. If the workweek has 40 or less total hours, OT1 is calculated as ‘8 hours per day’. This option will start accumulating weekly OT1 on the day after 40 hours are worked, thus the option may yield more than 40 regular work hours in a week. 

8 h/day AND 40 h/week: Any hours over 8 hours in a day are considered OT1.Once the total work week hours reaches 40, all hours are considered OT1. This option will start accumulating weekly OT1 on the day after 40 hours are worked, thus the option may yield more than 40 regular work hours in a week. 

8 h/day THEN 40 h/week: Any hours over 8 hours in a day are OT1. Once 40 hours are worked, all hours are moved to OT1. This option will start accumulating weekly OT1 on the day 40 hours are worked, thus the option will never yield more than 40 regular work hours in a week.

12 h/day AND 40 h/week: Any hours over 12 hours in a day are considered OT1.Once the total work week hours reaches 40, all hours are considered OT1. This option will start accumulating weekly OT1 on the day after 40 hours are worked, thus the option may yield more than 40 regular work hours in a week. 

California: Overtime for hours worked after 8 hours per day and up to and including 12 hours per day, and Double time for hours worked after 12 hours per day, and Overtime for hours worked after 40 straight hours per week, and Applying 7th day rules, on the seventh consecutive day of work in a single work week, we calculate Overtime for the first 8 hours worked, and Double time for any additional hours more than 8 on the 7th day.